Home

2015

2015. I can’t believe it’s finally here. We are launching our church plant in 10 weeks.

WHAT!?!?!?

It’s hard to put words to how I am feeling today at the dawn of the new year. It’s actually been a little difficult to describe since Christmas day. It seems like this Christmas and New Year’s break had been serving as an “imaginary” barrier from where we were (any date preceding Dec 24, 2014) to where we are now (rapidly approaching our launch date of March 15, 2015). This has been the moment that I have transitioned from saying, “It seems like it will never get here,” to “It seems like it will be here before I know it.” We have turned the corner.

There is still a great level of excitement and anticipation, but my anxiousness is beginning to swell. There is quite a bit that needs to get done before March 15. In addition to our launch Sunday, we are also hosting 2 vision casting and worship events to give people a “sneak peek” into the Rising Church. The first one will be held on Sunday, February 8 and the second on Sunday, March 1 – both @ 4pm. In addition to planning and promoting the vision casting events and our launch Sunday, we have to get all of the equipment we’ll need to execute KidsMin, hospitality, and the worship experience as a setup/tear down church.

God has met our needs every step of the way and I am still trusting Him for everything. I am feeling a greater sense of urgency in my mind anyway, because we are that much closer to our launch. As Neva just reminded me today, my confidence is in God’s power and not my gifting or ability. If I were banking on me and what I could accomplish this would be a short-lived adventure. My confidence is in the Lord.

It has been humbling to see how God has provided in a variety of different ways, through a variety of different people and churches. I have been in awe of the way He has worked through His Church to equip us to plant this church.

All of that said, this is what God has been preparing Neva and I for. I am so excited to be on this journey and there is still a lot of me that can’t wait for the morning of Sunday, March 15th. It will be the realization of a calling and a dream. Prayerfully, it will be the first Sunday of many, many, many Sundays to come – for the rest of my life –  to have the honor and privilege to continue leading the Rising Church.

So there’s a little glimpse into my state of mind as we begin the new year. This is the year that will see the launch of our Sunday morning worship services as the Rising Church. I’m excited, nervous, giddy, anxious, happy, concerned, contemplative, curious…and probably a dozen other emotions. But this is the year and the call that God has been preparing our lives for and I am resting in Him and His might. My request of those of you who are reading: pray!

Pray with us and for us as we launch the Rising Church’s public worship services this year.

Leave a Reply

