Home

I dedicated the better part of the day in mid-November to prayer walk the city of Leesburg. It was something that had been on my heart for several weeks and the more I thought and prayed about the idea the more I seemed to hear from other pastors and individuals who had done prayer walks themselves. I was inspired by their testimonies and realized I needed to do this myself. I finally put a date on the calendar that I protected so that I would have ample time to prayer walk the northeast corner of Leesburg.

As the date got closer the forecast got colder. The final forecast for the day of my prayer walk: a high of 30° and a windchill factor of 13°. Despite my cold circumstances, I had committed that day to prayer and did not want the inconvenience of cold weather to dictate or impact the commitment I had made to God to pray over this city. So at 9:30 AM on that Tuesday morning I headed out to pray.

prayer walk routeI prayed for what would be the next 6 hours (and 11.25 miles). While walking, I had the vision that I was praying a spiritual hedge of protection around the communities and areas of northeast Leesburg. Even though the idea of a prayer walk sounds simple I realized I was engaged in spiritual warfare for the spiritual condition of the families and residents of Leesburg, VA. It was a physically exhausting experience but I found myself spiritually energized at the same time. Sure, it had taken the better part of a day, but there isn’t anything I would have rather done with that day. I can’t believe that I didn’t do it earlier. It was an inspiring interaction and conversation with God that I am extremely grateful for. And one that I will be repeating – God willing – several times in the future.

Here are some of the things that happened as a result of my prayer walk:

  • There was something very supernatural about my prayer walk.
  • I feel a stronger connection with my city and the people who live here.
  • I have a heightened sense of being physically and spiritually invested in this city.
  • I spiritually laid claim to Leesburg for the Lord Jesus Christ. It is His.
  • I received several visions and ideas of what ministry can and will look like.
  • It was one of the sweetest experiences I have had with God in a long time.

I am excited to see how God will answer the many prayers I prayed over Leesburg in the coming weeks, months, and years. I am grateful for the way that God moved during that time and how it impacted my life and ministry. I would highly encourage and recommend the discipline of prayer walking, whether it’s around your neighborhood, community, school, church, city…whatever. You should schedule time for a prayer walk and see what God does in your life and in your community as a result.

I would be very appreciative for any of you who would be willing to join the prayer team for our family and for the Rising Church. CLICK HERE to sign up to receive our monthly prayer updates.

Thanks for your prayers!

One thought on “Prayer Walking Leesburg

  1. Lessburg is so lucky to have you, Neva and the boys living in their midst. Praying daily for each of them, caring, and leading them in the way of the Lord. I could not be prouder to call you nephew! Praise the Lord!

Leave a Reply

