Home

Like most of us, I would imagine, I have felt a little numb this afternoon as I have thought about and wrestled with the news of the mass shooting at an elementary school in Connecticut. I’m stunned, and even sick to my stomach. Such a tragedy. My prayers are with those students and families whose lives will never be the same. As a father, I shudder at the thought of my own sons ever being in such a situation.

And in my heart I identify with the sentiment shared by so many on Facebook today that Jesus would return sooner than later. The cry of  “Come Lord Jesus!” stretches down the timeline of Facebook this afternoon. If I can be so bold, God has a response to our cries for the return of The Son. Peter talks about it in the 3rd chapter of his 2 letter…

The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. Instead he is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance. 2 Peter 3:9

Jesus will return! This fact in inevitable and hope-giving for those of us who believe in Him. But God is clear through His Word why Christ’s return hasn’t happened yet and while it probably won’t happen for quite a while. As difficult (or on days like today even depressing) as it is to live as a fallen being in this broken world, God is withholding the return of the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords quite intentionally, with the desire of “not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance!”

I agree with our prayers today, “Come Lord Jesus!” But let us also be reminded today that as believers we have a role in bringing about His coming. If God is being patient so that more and more people would believe in Jesus Christ and receive His call into the life that he offers should we not be more burdened and emboldened to proclaim His message of love and grace and forgiveness to a world that so desperately needs it! I long for His return, as we all do.

May we do what we can and proclaim what we have seen and heard so that this world would know the hope found in The One who is to come.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on the School Shooting in Connecticut

  1. Thanks for your encouragement Jason! I did my Th.M. thesis on maranatha, and while I believe it’s an important prayer, this is a time and season to act, to shine, to pray, and to share the hope that we have with everyone possible. You’re a blessing!

Leave a Reply

