Home

First of all, thanks to everyone for the continued prayers and support.  There is no doubt in my mind that this road to recovery would not have been as “successful” as it has been without your love and prayers. Thank you everyone!

Yesterday we saw the Neurologist and there weren’t any surprises, really.  Time apparently is the best medicine for a brain injury (concussion & post concussion syndrom). However, I’m relying on God’s healing power and provision. Whether He chooses to heal my brain in 2 hours or 2 months is completely up to Him…thankfully!  Here are the big take-aways from yesterday’s appointment:

  1. A little more than 2 weeks before I can return to work. A follow-up appointment was scheduled for Feb 13th @ 9am at which point in time I should be released to return to work. I’m definitely hoping and praying for a return by then!
  2. Within that 2 week window I should have 6 physical therapy appointments. The focus of the therapy will be working on my balance and overall physical strength. Please join us in praying that the PT will get resolved. Workman’s comp wanted us to go to a PT 1+ hour away, 3 times a week for 2 weeks. My wife and our amazing church are working on getting this resolved today and things do look optimistic but prayers in this specific area are appreciated.
  3. Additional medications were prescribed to help me with insomnia, severe headache, and soreness and stiffness in my neck.  The pain meds have done their part consistently with managing the headache over the past 4-5 days. The insomnia is a little different story as some nights are good and some nights aren’t, but there doesn’t seem to be much consistency here.
  4. Bottom line, it will take TIME.  Again, I’ll take TIME as a side dish to GOD working this all out!

I’m really missing being at work. Not much I can do about that right now but it has been a great reminder how much I love what I do and the joy God gives me in ministering to and with teenagers. Grace Fellowship Church is an amazing place to serve and I’m so grateful to God’s calling that led us here and the amazing family that they are. Now that I’m becoming a little more alert and able to process information I’m looking forward to dream, vision and strategize Student Ministry. It will at least help me feel a little closer to working with teens again.

Praying towards the day that God fully restores me!

One thought on “Road to Recovery

  1. Thanks for the update, Jason. Praying that physical therapy will be worked out closer to home and that you’ll be able to return to work sooner than later! Hopefully, very soon! God bless you and your family!

Leave a Reply

