Home

I have read some amazing books in the past few years that have all earned places of “honor” on my bookshelf.  Last night, I added a book to that collection and it may have taken the #1 spot on my book list. Gospel: recovering the power that made Christianity revolutionary, by J.D. Greear is the most affirming and encouraging book I have read in regards to the centrality of the Gospel in life.  It’s an amazing framework of the Gospel and the depth of its theology. As I read the book I was overwhelmed, as if what J.D. Greear penned in his book was transcribed from the cry of my own heart!

The book, more accurately the theology unfolded through its pages, is framed in what Greear calls, “the gospel prayer.” A daily reminder to ourselves of the power of gospel and the way we should view it, thus impacting the way we view the world.  I’ve started praying these powerful words as part of accepting the challenge of “the Gospel Project,” (explained in the book).

In Christ, there is nothing I can do that would make You love me more, and nothing I have done that makes You love me less.

Your presence and approval are all I need for everlasting joy.

As You have been to me, so I will be to others.

As I pray, I’ll measure Your compassion by the cross and Your power by the resurrection.

The book is amazing.

Check it out for yourself.

Get yourself a copy and begin the journey of recovering the power that made Christianity revolutionary!

2 thoughts on “the gospel prayer

Leave a Reply

