Home

So it has taken me longer to finish this blog series than I anticipated.  I’d promise you a series of blogs to explain the reason for the delay, but that might not get finished until 2015.  However, I’m hopeful to share what God has been doing in my life over the past couple of months at some points, so stay tuned.  In wrapping up this series on THE Cause, I want to focus on the last words that Jesus spoke to His disciples, and all disciples for that matter.

Jesus gives us His Cause, THE Cause, in Matthew 28:28-20 and commissions all believers to make disciples who make disciples.  If there is one thing we need to be about as believers, this is it.  Jesus then gives pretty clear instruction as to what living THE Cause should look like in our own lives in Acts 1:8

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you. And you will be my witnesses, telling people about me everywhere—in Jerusalem, throughout Judea, in Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.

God sent the Holy Spirit to come up on us and fill us with power!  Contemplate that for a minute.  The God of the universe sent us His power through the Holy Spirit to fuel our very lives.  Think of the most raving sports fan, the most disciplined athlete, or the most patriotic soldier.  None of them can rival the potential of any Christian believer who is filled with the Holy Spirit, but most of the time we don’t live lives that reflect this power that Jesus claimed we would receive.  Was Jesus wrong? Not so much.  I think many (if not most) believers live ordinary, mundane lives because we fail to take hold of the power from God that dwells within us. What are we scared of?   What is holding us back?  I’ve been wrestling through this concept in my own life as well lately.  If I truly believe God is sovereign, that Jesus is who He said He was, and that I am literally fueled in my life because the Third Member of the Trinity has taken up residence in my soul, then what could stand in my way?  What I am really scared of in life if all of this is going on inside of me?

What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us?  – Romans 8:31

If we could realize the power we have in us, then the remaing words of Acts 1:8 would happen all the time, everywhere, so that every many, woman and child would here the Gospel of Jesus Christ and be made into disciples who make disciples.  We couldn’t help being witnesses to the Gospel if we allowed the power of the Holy Spirit to flow through us freely and our witness would follow the natural progression outlined in this verse.  Start in Jerusalem – those closest to you, continue on into Judea – those who are around you outside of your inner circle, then into Samaria – everyone around you including those you don’t like, and finally to the ends of the earth!

What will you do to live THE Cause in your world?

Leave a Reply

