Home

Wow…another year of life under my belt and hopefully dozens yet to come.  It’s quiet at home tonight as Neva is at worship band practice, I have tucked the boys in, March Madness is muted on the TV, and I’m able to kick my feet up and enjoy my Starbucks birthday beverage – a Venti Raspberry White Mocha.  All is well.

For some reason I have been contemplating life more on this birthday than on previous ones.  Not sure why as nothing strikes me as to why my 33rd birthday would be more significant than others.  Although I have been reminder that Jesus was 33 years old when he died…not sure how to take that comment.  But my thoughts today have been primarily about my family and friends and this wonderful journey that God has taken me on.

God has blessed me with an amazing family.  My wife is the perfect yin to my yang.  She is everything I could have ever dreamed of in best friend and mate.  I love her so much!  God has blessed us both with two amazing boys that aspire to mighty men of God.  Well, Christian does anyway.  Brayden still aspires to smile and poop all day but I’m hoping he’ll grow out of that in the next few years.  My parents are amazing adn I have been blessed today to hear from them and so many other family members like my brothers and grandma.

I have literally been in awe of the friends that God has put in my life (that probably means you!).  I fondly scrolled through birthday wishes on facebook and read birthday cards today.  I was humbled to realize how God has blessed me through so many amazing friends like you and honored that you would call me friend.  I’m truly grateful to God for the people that He has put in my life.  I have scratched my head several times today trying to figure it all out and the best I can figure is that I am blessed and fortunate.  Thank You God!

And what amplified those feelings today was being at Dare 2 Share today surrounded by people that I am happy to call friends and privileged to serve alongside as we co-labor in Christ.  I am touched by your love and friendship…every single one of you!  Sorry for being a sap…and I’m sure I’ll catch grief for it when I get back to work on Monday (thanks in advance Phil and Greg). 

As I ponder 33 years of life I can’t help but be thankful for the friendships I have.  From Jesus, to my wife and kids, my family, friends, and partners in ministry, please know today more than any other day I’m thankful for each one of you!

Blessings,

5 thoughts on “Birthday Thoughts…family and friends

  1. We love you, Jason! You an your awesome family have been our family away from family. And I agree with everything you said about Neva, she is one of my favorite people! We love you guys and oh, I can attest to the smiling and pooping. As I am watching your lovely B right now… Hmm, where did he go?

  2. Yay! So you when you say I am the PERFECT yin to your yang, are you really saying I am perfect?? That is what I got out of it! haha!

Leave a Reply

