Home

Tonight was like the first day of school for me (that’s a good thing).  I am finally jumping back to being involved in the Youth Ministry at Northern Hills.  When we first started going to NHCC I would head down on Saturday evenings and was part of the High School ministry.  I then helped launch  a small group and was part of that for the better part of 1 1/2 years.  Now, I’m getting involved in Wednesday nights which is our Youth Ministry’s main youth group gathering.

It brought back a flood of memories and emotions of being a full time Youth Leader.  Not just from being in the room, but I actually got to get involved in what was going on…from getting kids involved in a “Minute to Win it” game (which didn’t exist 5 years ago when I was a YL), competing with 2 High School guys in a soda chug (I lost…I never lost at that game back in the day), but most importantly was getting to lead the High School guys in our discussion questions with my buddy Josh as we debriefed the evenings talk which focused on Jesus as a REVOLUTIONARY. 

I was reminded of how much teens need Jesus.  That no matter what issues they are facing in their lives the Gospel is sufficient and will meet all of their needs!  My heart broke for them and for the friends they have the ability to reach who so desperately need to meet Jesus.  I’m typically not described as a compassionate person but I feel a fresh new drive and urgency and concern for these teens and the impact the Gospel can have in their lives as well as in the lives of their freinds.  I’m excited for yet another chapter of Youth Ministry to unfold in my life!

For the glory of God and the salvation of humanity…

2 thoughts on “Back in the Wednesday Night groove!

  1. Whoo hoo! We were SO blessed to have you back, Jason! I LOVE Wednesday nights and always walk away each week with a new love for our kids and insight into their lives. I can’t wait to see what God is going to do through these kids in 2011!

Leave a Reply

