Home

I came home from work yesterday and learned that my 9-year-old son Christian had experienced a little bit of a rough afternoon.  Apparently he had been playing with a few of the neighborhood boys and they started giving him a hard time because he was excited about Toy Story 3, which he had watched the night before.  They also made fun of him because he doesn’t watch PG-13 movies.  He didn’t understand why they would make fun of him for things like this.

As we discussed what happend over dinner I tried to encourage him in a few different ways.  First, I told him that he didn’t need to worry about what his friends think of him.  When it comes to the way he lives his life he only needed to worry about what God thinks of him (1 Cor. 10:31).  I also encouraged him that I had been made fun at different times for being a Christian and the life that I chose to lead but because we are Christians we can be confident that our identity is found Jesus Christ, not the opinions of others (Gen 1:26).  Finally, I shared with him that even though it’s not easy or fun, the Bible tells us that we will be persecuted for our belief in Jesus Christ (John 15:20).



For the rest of my life I will not forget what happened next.  Christian finished his dinner and simply responded, “I need to go tell them about Jesus. Can I go tell them?”  My wife and I said yes, of course.  He came back and shared with us that he shared the Gospel hand with the two boys: Thumb = God loves me, Index = I have sinned, Middle = Christ died for me, Ring = If I believe, Pinky = I will go to heaven.  He asked them if they believed and they replied they didn’t know so Christian tried to get them to memorize it.  He also told us that they cussed at him using every word imaginable.  Through all of that Christian said he felt more sad for them and expressed that they needed Jesus that much more.

In this, my son taught me this:  “For I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile.”  Romans 1:16

Preach the Gospel young man!

Leave a Reply

