Home

I have often heard the phrase, “Jack of all trades,” from my family and friends.  If I’m honest with myself there is a lot of truth to that assessment.  God has blessed me with a curious aptitude and ability to pick a variety of things up quickly, with little effort.  It makes life interesting for me but it can also be a little unsatisfying as I move from one thing to the next just to give something else a try.  I typically don’t settle in to any one thing or area of interest for an extended period of time.  As the saying goes, “Jack of all trades, master of none.” 

I have really had to wrestle with this when it comes to understanding and investing in my spiritual gifting.  Because of my “Jack of all trades” mentality I naturally push away from honing in on 1 or 2 specific areas of anything, but especially when it comes to spiritual gifts.  I tend to cling to the idea of “all things to all people.”  However, despite my best efforts of resistance, God has been revealing to me over the past few years (and in an accelerated manner over the past few months) where He has gifted me.  The funny thing is that I’m not all that surprised and in many ways relieved to understand His gifts for me as it has already helped me define where I need to invest my attention, energy and efforts.

LEADERSHIP:  While this has been the most consistent of these two gifts in my life it has also been the hardest for me to hone in on.  Depending on the circumstances of life I have found that leadership can look differently and requires different things of me in any given situation.  That’s exactly what has made it so difficult for me to figure out because it looks so different so often.  As I look back on the last 4 ½ years at Dare 2 Share this is where God has stretched, challenged, pushed, tried and tested me the most…and I love it.

TEACHING:  God has increased the opportunities that God has blessed me with through Dare 2 Share and Northern Hills Christian Church over the past few years.  In addition to the act of speaking I am finding how much I enjoy preparing for those opportunities.  I spent several hours a few weeks ago preparing for a Youth Leader conference that I spoke at that following weekend and it only added to the excitement of speaking.  The same has been true when I’ve had the opportunity to preach at Northern Hills.  God has shown me that this is another area of gifting He has blessed me with by the opportunities, successes and enjoyment He has blessed me with when I have the opportunity to teach.

So there you have it.  My current conclusion in life is that God has gifted me and designed me to lead and teach and I am extremely thankful for the opportunities He has blessed me with that allow me exercise these gifts!

2 thoughts on “Leading and Teaching

  1. Great stuff Jason; glad He is revealing to you your areas of giftedness and strength. I’ll pray the Lord frees you to do those all the more! Blessings on you!

  2. Solid bro. It’s very comforting and somewhat relieving when you begin to know where exactly God has gifted you. I’m still processing what that is for me but grateful I have a leader like you in my life. (except deadline days…. 🙂 ) Love the blog… keep em coming. And for what it’s worth here is my blog: http://www.chrislambuth.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

