Home

That’s right.  My wife and I started P90X today and it kicked my butt!  I am starting the program at 216 lbs and a 43″ waist (even though I typically wear 38″ pants/jeans) and my goals are to get to 185 lbs of a 34″ waist.  And so our journey begins…

Workout: We started the program at 5:30am today with the Chest & Back routine immediately followed by the Ab Ripper X workout.  I was actually surprised at how much I was able to do today during the Chest &  Back workout.  I certainly wasn’t keeping pace with the video, but I stayed moving.  It may be the first upper body workout I have ever done that I have felt the burn and pain all day long.  I like it!  The Ab Ripper X workout was simply humiliating.  I have quite the spare tire around the middle so I’m sure that it will take some time to get there, but I am determined to rock the 6-pack once again!  By the way, I puked my brains out after finishing up.  Apparently drink ZipFizz right before my workout wasn’t the wisest decision I made today.

Diet: To maximize our results we are also sticking to the P90X diet.  We have chosen the Portion Control version and are both in Phase 1, Level 2 of the eating plan.  Here is what today’s menu consisted of:

  • 7:20am breakfast: 4 slices of turkey bacon, 8 oz of skim milk, and a recovery drink for the ride into work
  • 10:30 am snack: protein bar, 1 cup of carrots and 2 tbs of peanut butter for my late morning snack
  • 12:45pm lunch: Salad consisting of 2 cups of spinach leaf, 1 cup of steamed mushrooms, 6oz of slice steak, 1 tbs feta cheese, 2 tbs balsamic vinagrette
  • 3:00pm snack: apple
  • 6:00pm dinner: Stir fry consisting of 6oz of chicken, 1 cup of mixed vegetables, 1 cup of rice, soy sauce
  • 7:00pm snack: protein powder and 8oz of skim milk

We are very much looking forward to tomorrow’s Plyometrics workout!!!

6 thoughts on “P90X – Day 1

  1. Jason.

    The Key to P90X is to pace yourself. If you don’t you WILL get injured. It can sometimes feel humiliating to do 5 or 6 of what they are doing 20, but they are trained and have been through the program many times. (Sounds a little like ministry…).

    But the key is to push yourself to your limits, not theirs.

    another helpful tip. Don’t eat for an hour before workout. and on heavy nights (such as Plyo or KenPo), chicken/pasta/light stuff helps..No Grease, or you’ll see it again.

  2. Thanks for all of the words of advice and encouragement everyone. We survived day 2 and we continue to look forward to the days ahead.

    And Heather, when I was a 17 year old freshman in college I could do 450 crunchies. That was 15 years ago but a goal for my p90x journey none the less.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention P90X – Day 1 « Jason G. Lamb -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

