Home

Quite honestly, not much of a dramatic night tonight.  We decided that this would be one of those nights where we just let our hair down and had a fun night enjoying each other’s company.  Now I wouldn’t advocate this to be the norm, but it was a nice exception to the rule as we get ready for the Invincible conference this weekend in Denver, CO.  We played card games, video games, had a fire in the fire pit in the backyard, and watched the football game.  It was a great time! 

In all seriousness, I love challenging our teenagers and seeing them step up as we continually raise the bar.  But on occasion, it’s nice to have the opportunity to breathe a little bit.  For those of you in ministry, I’d love your thoughts.  Is it good to take a breather every once in a while?  Do we constantly need to keep our small group or youth group formats fully immersed in scripture and study?  Or maybe (honestly) is having fun the norm for you and Bible study the exception to the rule?

Please continue to pray for Michael.  He wasn’t able to attend small group tonight as he and his friend that brings him to group both ahd awards to accept at a school banquet.  I did learn that he has been reading the Gospel of John and finds it quite interesting and may have several questions.  Pray for me as I read along with him that God would direct me to teh ansswers to his questions.

2 thoughts on “HS Small Group 11/10/08

  1. Once a month our group steps back to do something different from our weekly bible study. I think it good for the group to “let their hair down” and just interact (fellowship) with each other. It brings to mind Acts 2:46-47; “Every day they continued to meet together in the temple courts. They broke bread in their homes and ate together with glad and sincere hearts, praising God and enjoying the favor of all the people. And the Lord added to their number daily those who were being saved.” This is just my thought but I when they met “every day” I don’t think it was always in the “let’s sit down as a group study together” mode. I can only imagine in my mind and paint a picture of what those days looked like, but I envision some in prayer, some in study and some in fellowship (chatting and playing games). In other words I believe they “let their hair down” from time to time.

    Last night our group took some time to prayer for your group and specifically for Michael.

  2. Pingback: I’m Going to Dare2Share in Denver « brianford.org

Leave a Reply

