Home

We continued our study that asks the question, “Who do you say Jesus is?”  Earlier in the week I messaged 9 of the students in our group through facebook with this very question and asked them to provide me with scripture to back up their answer.  I extended the help to them that if they needed assistance finding scripture to support their answer I would help them.  Of the 9 I sent the question to, I got 1 response answering the question.  The answer: Jesus is Love.  The passage she provided: 1 Corinthians 13:4-7.

I was impressed with her answer enough that I built our Bible study around it tonight.  I started in 1 John 3:16-17.  A great passage that communicates the very fact that Jesus is in fact love.  From there we dove into 1 Corinthians 13 in which Paul clearly defines love.  From there, we connected the dots and walked through the passage looking at each point he makes about love and how Christ shows us those aspects in our lives.  It was cool to see how the kids engaged in conversation, volunteered their answers, and contemplated Christ and what His love looks like.  We wrapped up our study by meditating on Romans 5:6-11 and praying over what His ultimate act of love was: death on the cross so that we might be saved and God ultimately glorified!

I love these teenagers and how they are growing in their faith and engaging the word.  I am even more excited to see them get trained and equipped at Dare 2 Share’s Invincible conference coming up in a few weeks.  God, do amazing things in the lives of these teenagers to advance Your Kingdom and bring glory to You!

One thought on “HS Small Group 10/27/08

Leave a Reply

