Home

5 out of 5 stars.

So this just happens to be my favorite music video of all time.  You may recognize it from video loops that run before movies start as this is where I first saw it and have seen it for months.  In addition to simply being patriotic, I love this song for the lyrics, especially when you think about the words with a Christian worldview in mind.  Check out the chorus with that in mind:

And on that day, when you need your brothers and sisters to care.
I’ll be right here.

Citizen soldiers.
Holding the light for the ones that we guide from the dark of despair.
Standing on guard for the ones that we’ve sheltered.
We’ll always be ready because we will always be there.

Do you see what I mean?  “the ones that we guide from the dark of despair.”  If that’s not a line that describes the need for evangelism in this world and how we can guide people out of despair, then I don’t know what is.  I think about people who need the power and protection that God can provide through His Church and how we can provide shelter for those in need.  And God’s lasting promising to always be there because He is always ready.

Considering the patriotic nature of this music video, I’m sure the writer of these lyrics wasn’t necessarily thinking of God’s nature and the commission He has given us to share His love with the world by taking the Gospel to everyone, everywhere.  However, it still serves as a powerful reminder to me everytime I see the video and listen to the lyrics!

Leave a Reply

